Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Hub question from complete novice
I'll preface this by saying I know very little about bike maintenance.

I recently bought a new bike, Vilano's generic, entry level 21 speed. I'd hoped to find a good deal on a used bike on Craigslist, but quickly realized I didn't have the bike knowledge to do that. The Vilano had good reviews for my price range, but I realize that, to an extent, you get what you pay for, too.

I got the bike yesterday and started to do some prep maintenance. I know I could've had a bike shop do everything for a reasonable price, but I like figuring stuff out and doing my own maintenance.

Based on reviews of the bike, the first thing I adjusted was the front wheel hub. Before adjustment, things seemed a bit tight. I'm confident I've got the adjustment dialed to the point where it's juuuust tight enough to eliminate any lateral movement in the axle, but no tighter than that. The inside of the hub looked pre-greased, but I added some Park Tool PolyLube 1000 in for good measure. After adjustment, I can still feel a bit of grinding when I turn the axle by hand, like I can feel the bearings against the cones. When I put the wheel back in the bike and spin it, it seems to rotate just fine (spins forever, no audible grinding), but that bit of friction I can feel when turning the axle by hand is bothering me. I'm not sure how to label the feel. It is a sort of resistance, but that seems an imperfect description, since it doesn't noticeably hinder the spin of the wheel.