Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Bike Repair Help for Novice
Hi guys, So my housemates for my birthday decided to buy me a bike as my work is quite far and buses and owning a car are far too expensive for me. However it is very much a bike bought on a student budget and needs some fine tuning and I was wondering if you could help me. I am a complete novice at everything bicycle related and am posting on here to see if I could fix these issues instead of taking it to Halfords and having to pay quite a bit for the repairs.

I have been browsing around this website for a while and there are a few threads which seem to be talking about what I need to do, however, I am unsure whether the specific parts are actually on my bike and what a lot of the terms mean... So if someone could guide me to the correct areas to help with my repairs that would be very helpful.
The problems I am having are as follows and in order of urgency of repairs required to make it functional:

1. Brakes
So when I press the brake levers, I able to push them all the way to the handle, however this doesn't actually engage the brakes or if it does it is very minimal. My friend said he had replaced the brake pads but couldn't "tighten" them. I have no idea what that means.

2. Gears
The left hand side gear changing thing has 3 numbers but there are actually only 2 Cassette (don't think this is the right word, i mean the cog thing where the chain goes). This is generally fine as I am guessing they might have replaced the gear device.

However, when changing the right hand side gears, the derailleur has a habit of getting caught in the spokes of the spinning wheel which as you can imagine is quite dangerous when cycling.

3. The back tyre