Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Help with rear derailleur?
Hi All,

I'm new to owning and maintaining my own bike and have been having an issue with my bike that is about 2 months old. More or less, I am stuck in the highest gear on my bike (7). I physically can't crank the twist handlebar shifter down.

Did some research and troubleshooting, I physically "shifted" the derailleur itself left with my hand and was able to get the bike to shift into a lower gear (not as low as 1, I got it down to 3) but as soon as I rode, and shifted back up, I could not shift back down. I played around with the alignment and the Low Limit Screw, I really can't tell if it has anything to do with that or not. The derailleur hanger is fine and I can't see any physical damage anywhere.

I then pulled out the cable. It was moving freely when I shifted on the handlebar and the twist was cranking with ease. When I placed the cable back into the derailleur, it got stuck again and wouldn't physically twist shift down. I feel with this info i'm getting closer to zeroing in on what's going on but could use a little more guidance on how to get there before I give up and take it into the shop. I'm handy enough to do it myself, just can't figure out what to do.

It is a Shimano if that helps and If any pics would be helpful I can share those. Thanks in advance for any help.
(07-16-2019, 09:17 PM)BSciacca Wrote:  Hi All,

I'm new to owning and maintaining my own bike and have been having an issue with my bike that is about 2 months old. More or less, I am stuck in the highest gear on my bike (7). I physically can't crank the twist handlebar shifter down.