Bicycle TutorBicycle Tutor

Show off your bike!

Help with 10 speed Freestyle

Related video tutorials:
How to Adjust Your Front Derailleur How to Adjust Your Front Derailleur
* Now with 3D interactive instructions
DSGBicycles Offline

Help with 10 speed Freestyle
I'm a bike tech at dicks sporting goods in Bloomfield, MI and I'm having trouble with replacing the cables on an old 10 speed freestyle. I've only been working at this job for about 3 months now, so I don't have a ton of experience working on bikes yet, and I can't tell how to get the cable out of the shifter.

It looks like the cable should just be able to pop out of the end of the shifter (I have already removed the housing), but I can't get it to budge. Is there something else I need to do first before I can take the cable out, or is it just that this particular one is likely jammed?
Aug 26, 2014 01:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
DaveM Offline
Veteran Member

RE: Help with 10 speed Freestyle
On most shifters, you just push the cable out of the shifter (in the opposite direction that the shifter pulls the cable normally) until the cable head pops out and the cable can slide out completely. It may just be the the head on the cable is wedged tightly into the hole in the shifter and needs a little force to pop out. The sizing of the cable heads and shifter holes isn't completely standard and you sometimes get very tight ones.
Aug 26, 2014 03:32 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
cny-man Offline

Syracuse, NY
There are a multitude of levers on the market, and we don't even know if the bike has road or mountain bars. Need info as to brand/model and pics of lever.
Aug 26, 2014 03:43 PM
DSGBicycles Offline

If I knew the model of the shifters, I would have just looked up the manufacturer instructions for changing the cable cny-man Tongue All they say on them is Index Shifting System, which could be about any brand.