Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Leg recovery
Ciao.
I have recently increased the distance on my road bike. 60+ miles on Friday, then 35-50 on Saturday, and barely made to 30 miles on Sunday. That's for two weekends in a row. The issue here is how my legs feel on 2nd and 3rd day in-a-row. I'm still a beginner, but feels that this feeling of heavy and tired legs can be prevented.

What are your leg recovery methods that keep you on the bike for multiple days? Namely that might help feeling better the next day and being able to hit 50+ miles three days in a row. Some leg gels, supplements, stretching? Thank you in advance.
(09-10-2019, 06:54 PM)ManBearPig Wrote:  Ciao.
I have recently increased the distance on my road bike. 60+ miles on Friday, then 35-50 on Saturday, and barely made to 30 miles on Sunday. That's for two weekends in a row. The issue here is how my legs feel on 2nd and 3rd day in-a-row. I'm still a beginner, but feels that this feeling of heavy and tired legs can be prevented.

What are your leg recovery methods that keep you on the bike for multiple days? Namely that might help feeling better the next day and being able to hit 50+ miles three days in a row. Some leg gels, supplements, stretching? Thank you in advance.

Are you used to bike this much in the past or is it a recent development?
Do you do warm-ups and cool-downs?
"Carbon is faster"

Beer always helps with recovery Smile
And simply gathering those miles (note, this is important for beginners), legs will feel better with the distance.
Merida Scultura 5000 (2015)
Merida Big Nine 400 (2019)
(09-11-2019, 09:31 AM)Nikko Wrote:  

Are you used to bike this much in the past or is it a recent development?
Do you do warm-ups and cool-downs?