Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Front derailleur woes
I have Ultegra long reach with 10 speed cassette in the rear--works great. FSA Gossamer triple with 105 FD up front. Problem is in the front. I am experiencing occasional overshifting and thrown chain when shifting from middle chain ring to small while the rear is on the biggest gear. I have no experience with index shifting in the front. I tried to set the FD up with the chain on the small ring, then I added cable tension to get the derailleur to shift to the middle ring with one click from the Ultegra shifter. No way. It takes more than one click to get the front to shift to the middle ring. To get the front to shift from the big to middle or middle to small takes several operations of the black lever. It makes quite a popping sound when I press the black shifter level as well. I need some advice or tests to run.
...j
Take a look at http://bike.shimano.com/publish/content/global_cycle/en/us/index/tech_support/tech_tips.html number 6) "Trim function". It is a bit tricky to get the shifting correct for a triple crank set, especially if one tries to set up the trimming the wrong way. I know that 'cause I tried...
You use the Hi & Lo limit screws to stop the chain overshooting the small and large chainrings. The cable may be slightly slack when in the small ring.

Looking at the "tech-Tips", that Joe mentions, gives the impression that you have to go through 2 clicks to change completely from small to middle ring?
Ride hard or ride home alone!