Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the Latest Giveaway coming soon

Snowspeeder Active (Ready for Winter)
Not sure how much snow we're going to get here based on the weather so far, into mid-December now. Last year didn't really get snow until January. I had a couple runs with some caveats. i was running 38/16 with the same oval ring. This gear ratio on 26" enables better speed on bare ground, but becomes rough in the heavier snow. I've been doing snow riding for a few years now, and with my development it was accomplishable, but suffers in a few crucial areas. One is that it doesn't allow you to control the cadence as well between coasting and pedaling. In the snow, you have to do a considerable amount of very sudden stop and go coasting to stabilize across the pathway. To get over snow mounds that pile up at the beginning of sidewalks and intersections of the road, you need to be able to accelerate very suddenly with enough leverage to quickly power up and over them. This is where the 16T in the back really struggled. I had run 38/17 on a round ring the year before last, and it was excellent for this, but was incredibly lossy on bare ground, making long treks between snowfall grueling. Now I'm back on it with an oval ring, gaining only just a little power on bare ground, but still incredibly grueling.