Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Changing brake cables
Hi guys,

I'm a novice when it comes to this typa thing, hence need your help.
I got a decent specialized road bike and recently changed brake calipers to shimano 105. During changing of the brakes, i cut the outer cable too short, hence now, it feels unsafe when braking as the inner cable is rubbing against the frame.
I'm looking around for inner and outer cables, but got really confused by it.
I'm wondering if there's any different in quality between a non branded inner & outer cables compared to like a shimano ones?
I live in UK, just wondering if anyone can please recommend me of one?
And also, is it worth buying a set ones? or just they're just gimmicks?

Also what type of ferrules should I get? metal or plastic/rubber?

Cheers
To be honest there isn't much of a difference, though the Shimano outers don't allow as much cable "stretch" (it's not stretch, it's the inner cable bedding into the outer. This is when you have new cables and you have to adjust the tension frequently for a while), hence they're easier to use.

I'm from the UK as well, all my bikes have the metal ferrules and they work pretty well. I use shimano inners and outers as well. They work really well, as my Downhill bike often gets covered in mud to the stage where there's more mud than bike. The shifting still works perfectly, despite the cheap mech and shifter. I run one continuous length of outer where possible as it keeps the gunk out for longer.
thanks JonB,

just wondering if there's any different between road and MTB inner and outer cables?
about the ferrules? should road bikes use metal as well or rubber?
cheers