Bicycle TutorBicycle Tutor

Show off your bike!

Related video tutorials:
Super lube vs. Mobil 1 vs. Kendall
Looking for others opinions/advice on this. I watched many of Alex's tutorials on the site (excellent, very helpful by the way).

I have an old Fuji Suncrest MTB (circa 1991) that my parents got for me when I graduated college. This is pretty much the parts mine has http://www.anthonyalsberg.com/bike_spec/92_93/suncrest.html except that my rims are Ritchey (presta valve) and the headset says Ritchey Logic. It had seen many miles of recreational light trail/mud and some commuting use over the years. It also did a long stretch of not much use. It was always in either a shed or the garage not left in open areas. A bunch of years back I had taken most of the parts (headset, crank shaft, wheel bearings) apart and re-greased everything but it is now time to do it again. The bike still works well but I need to put some time & money into it so I can safely ride it more again.

On Alex's video he uses a clear Super Lube. I think I had used either Kendall super blue bearing grease or Mobil 1 (red colored) grease for grease guns. How do these compare viscosity/protection/resistance wise. Whichever grease it was would more than likely have been the same one I used for my car wheel bearings etc. which might be overkill for the MTB or maybe it's the same? I'll probably try to take all apart again with my son so he can help and learn. I'm very mechanically inclined and like projects like this. Just want to make sure I use something that would be best for this bike.

We just bought my 9 year old a 26" Schwinn Frontier GSX for his birthday. He likes to ride around the block a lot with his friends as well as his boy scout troop does camping trips that have mountain bike trails that we have done a couple times. I need to get my bike back in good shape so I can keep up with him (and my 6 year old daughter).
Hi