Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

What lube, where and why!
Hey, ive seen a few threads round here saying what kind of lubrication to use and why etc so i thought id take time to do a write up to explain why what and where, i'll name each type of oil/grease and what its useful for so here goes:

Bearings (hubs, cranks and headsets):
For bearings I highly recommend grease, any grease is suitable as long as its meant for bearings, some popular ones are marine grease and automobile grease
The reason you need grease is because its metal on metal and at high speed you want something that will last long and be water resistant.

Cables (brake and derailers):
I highly recommend a light oil here, Tri flow is the best and i've been using this for many years, The reason you want this type of oil is because its thin and will penetrate parts of cables that greases and thick oils would simply not be able too, tri flow is obtainable from your local bike shop,if they do not stock tri flow they should stock something similar just ask!
You just need a few drops per cable when you install one and a few drops every week after that.

Pivot points (brakes and derailers):
For pivot points that often moves you need a medium weight oil that will penetrate but stay in place, tri flow will work but i've used motor oil and a bottle will last you forever, a few drops every time your bike gets wet or when the should be lubricated area becomes dry will have you shifting smoothly in no time.

Freewheels: